隐私政策

更新日期:2021年7月22日

本隐私政策说明了加利福尼亚公共卫生部(CDPH)在使用新接触通知系统——CA Notify时如何保护用户的隐私。本政策阐释了如何保存和处理通过CA Notify收集的数据,以及用户在使用方面的选择。

iOS设备(版本12.5和13.7或更高版本)可在“设置”中激活接触通知系统,无需安装应用程序。Android设备则可以下载应用程序。在这两种类型的设备上,隐私政策和选择是相同的。

关于CA Notify

用户可以通过CA Notify以隐私保护的方式发送和接收关于潜在 COVID-19高风险接触的通知。该通知中将会说明下一步需要采取的措施。

接触通知旨在作为地方公共卫生部门开展的、涉及由社会工作者负责联系的传统接触追踪工作的补充。

如何工作

CA Notify不会收集或交换接收通知的用户的任何个人信息 (请见《加州信息保护法》(California Information Practices Act)中的定义)。

用户的移动设备通过蓝牙共享匿名密钥(随机生成的数字串)。使用的数据仅包括匿名密钥、蓝牙信号强度(距离)、日期和接触持续时间。此类数据与用户的身份或位置并无关联。每一名用户的密钥会经常变化,以进一步保护他们的身份。此类数据仅存储在用户自己的设备上,除非用户确诊COVID-19并选择在系统内共享这一信息,否则这些数据绝不会被共享。数据存储周期为14天,然后将被自动删除。数据一旦删除,将无法恢复。

COVID-19检测呈阳性的用户可选择通知与之曾有过近距离接触的其他CA Notify用户。COVID-19阳性用户必须输入由CDPH、CA Notify呼叫中心、地方公共卫生部门或CDPH授权的其他服务提供者提供的有效验证码,才能触发此类通知。

应用程序每天会多次下载与选择共享密钥的COVID-19阳性病例相关的所有匿名密钥列表。用户的设备会根据过去14天内接触的密钥列表检查这些密钥。一旦匹配,且日期、持续时间和距离与公共卫生部门的风险模型一致,则表明可能接触病毒,用户将收到接触通知。

通知将告知用户接触日期并说明下一步该做什么。

我们的合作伙伴——公共健康实验室联合会(APHL)会收集某些数据用于监测其服务器的稳定性。包括设备的IP地址(会保留14天,或者,遇到重大事件时,最长可保留30天),这一访问权限将受到严格限制,并用于系统错误诊断。


来自APHL的关于国家密钥服务器和多租户验证服务器的其他信息


我们的合作伙伴——加州大学圣地亚哥分校(UCSD)负责维护CA Notify接触通知网站,当用户收到接触通知时,将提供该网站的链接。UCSD网站服务器会收集设备的IP地址,这一访问权限将受到严格限制,并用于系统错误诊断。这些地址将按照美国国家标准与技术研究所的标准进行储存。

此外,UCSD会使用Google Analytics跟踪网站统计数据。CA Notify接触通知网站已启用IP地址随机化,意味着为进行统计分析,设备的IP地址将被收集到临时存储器中。然后通过删除IP地址的最后几位数字进行匿名化处理。匿名化处理的IP地址会保存到永久存储器中,非匿名化处理的IP地址会在匿名化处理完成后立即删除。因此,谷歌并未通过使用Google Analytics保存可直接识别您或您的设备的个人可识别信息。


了解关于Google Analytics的数据隐私和安全的更多信息


用户同意和选择

使用系统

CA Notify有可能可以帮助阻止感染传播,我们强烈建议您使用它,但是否使用全凭自愿。

用户可以随时打开或关闭系统,或在Android设备上卸载应用程序。系统不收集、跟踪和存储用户的位置信息、GPS信息或个人信息。

禁用“接触通知”

用户可以通过卸载应用程序(Android)、关闭功能(iOS)、关闭移动设备或关闭蓝牙功能,随时禁用CA Notify。如果用户卸载或停用CA Notify,将立即删除当前存储在设备上的所有密钥。

生成“接触通知”并提供给其他用户

是否向其他用户提供通知也全凭自愿。如果用户的COVID-19检测呈阳性,并选择通知其他人,则必须输入阳性检测验证码,才能释放存储在移动设备上的匿名密钥。适用情况下,还会要求用户输入症状出现的日期。如果能够提供症状出现的日期,并应用到风险模型中,将能够缩小收到接触通知的其他用户的范围。最后,系统会提示用户同意提醒其他人。当匿名密钥被释放后,可能会生成通知,该通知不会披露COVID-19阳性用户的身份、位置、电话号码或任何其他个人信息。

接触通知会包括接触日期,但不会共享COVID-19阳性用户的身份。共享接触日期对于确保根据接触日期在恰当时间内采取正确的预防措施(如自我隔离)非常重要。如果某一天接触人数有限,收到接触通知的个人可能能够猜出COVID-19阳性个人的身份。

系统要求输入验证码才能共享阳性检测结果。这样能够确保只有经过验证的阳性检测结果才会被用于生成接触通知。验证码只能由CDPH、CA Notify呼叫中心、地方公共卫生部门或CDPH授权发布代码的其他服务提供者生成。

共享信息

CA Notify可以处理和收集以下类别的反识别数据:

  • 安装和删除应用程序(仅限Android)
  • 启用和禁用“接触通知”
  • 接收“接触通知”
  • 输入验证码发送匿名密钥
  • 自愿共享的匿名密钥

此类数据可用于监测系统使用情况,以及用于性能评估和统计或科学研究目的。CA Notify还可能与地方公共卫生部门和加州大学共享这些数据。此类信息不包括任何个人或位置信息,也不能用于识别任何系统用户。

年龄要求

CA Notify不适用于13岁以下的儿童。13 - 17岁的用户必须经家长或法定监护人审核同意后方可使用。

隐私政策修订

CDPH可能会不时更新本隐私政策。本隐私政策如有重大变更,用户将通过应用程序收到通知。通知将说明该等变更何时生效。

用户如不同意新版隐私政策,则可以通过删除或卸载应用程序(Android)或关闭功能(iOS)终止加入CA Notify。

联系我们

如果您对本隐私政策或我们的隐私做法有任何反馈、问题、意见或顾虑,请通过cdph.ca.gov与我们联系,或写信至以下地址:

California Department of Public Health
PO Box 997377, MS 0500
Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

CDPH使用条件
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/Conditions-of-Use.aspx

CDPH隐私政策
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/privacy-policy.aspx

技术支持


UC San Diego Health
CDPH - California Department of Public Health
California All
California Department of Technology

Privacy Policy

Updated July 22, 2021

This Privacy Policy describes how the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) protects the privacy of people using the new exposure notification system – CA Notify. The policy explains how the data collected through CA Notify is stored and processed, and the choices available to the users in terms of usage. 

On iOS devices (versions 12.5 and 13.7 or later) the exposure notification system is activated within Settings and no app installation is required. On Android devices an app is available for download. On both types of devices, the privacy policy and choices are the same.

About CA Notify

CA Notify allows users to send and receive notifications of a potential high-risk exposure to COVID-19, in a privacy-preserving manner. The notifications will include instructions on next steps to take. 

The exposure notifications are intended to complement the conventional contact tracing efforts undertaken by local public health authorities involving contact by a caseworker. 

How it works

CA Notify does not collect or exchange any personal information, as defined in the California Information Practices Act, of the user to receive notifications.

The mobile devices of users share anonymous keys (randomly generated strings of numbers) via Bluetooth. The only data used are the anonymous keys, Bluetooth signal strength (proximity), and date and duration of exposure. These data are not linked to a user’s identity or location. Each user’s keys change frequently to further protect their identity. These data are stored only on the user’s own device and are never shared unless and until the user has a positive COVID-19 diagnosis and elects to share this information within the system. The data are stored for a period of 14 days and then automatically deleted. Once deleted the data cannot be restored.

A user who tests positive for COVID-19 may choose to notify other CA Notify users who have been near the user. To trigger such notification, the COVID-19 positive user must enter a valid verification code provided by the CDPH, CA Notify call center, local public health authority, or other provider authorized by CDPH. 

Several times a day, the app downloads a list of all the anonymous keys associated with positive COVID-19 cases that have elected to share their keys. The user’s device checks these keys against the list of keys it has encountered in the past 14 days. If there is a match, and the date, duration, and proximity align with the public health authority’s risk model to indicate a possible exposure to the virus, the user will receive an exposure notification.

The notification will inform the user of the date of exposure and instructions on what to do next.

Our partner, the Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL), collects certain data to monitor the stability of its servers. This includes a device’s IP address, which is retained for 14-days, or, in the case of a critical incident, up to 30 days and access to which is strictly limited and used for system error diagnostics.

Additional information from APHL in relation to the National Key Server and Multi-Tenant Verification Server.

Our partner, the University of California San Diego (UCSD), maintains the CA Notify Exposure Notification website, a link to which is provided should a user receive an exposure notification. The UCSD webserver collects a device’s IP address, access to which is strictly limited, to use for system error diagnostics. The addresses are retained in accordance with the standards set forth by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

In addition, UCSD uses Google Analytics to track website statistics. The CA Notify Exposure Notification website has IP Anonymization turned on, which means for statistical analysis purposes, a device’s IP address is collected in temporary storage. It is then anonymized by removing the last digits of the IP address. The anonymized IP addresses are saved to the permanent storage and the non-anonymized addresses are deleted as soon as anonymization is complete. Consequently, no personally identifiable information, which directly identifies you or your device is being stored at Google via the utilization of Google Analytics.

Find out more about Google Analytics’ Data Privacy and Security.

User consent & choices

Using the system

CA Notify has the potential to help stop the spread of the infection and its use is highly encouraged, but it is completely voluntary.

Users may turn the system on or off at any time, or uninstall the app on an Android device. The system does not collect, track or store users’ location, GPS information, or personal information.

Disabling exposure notifications

Users may disable CA Notify at any time by uninstalling the app (Android), turning off the feature (iOS), turning off the mobile device, or turning off the Bluetooth function. If the user uninstalls or deactivates CA Notify all keys currently stored on the device will be immediately deleted.

Generating exposure notifications to other users

Providing notification to other users is also completely voluntary. If a user tests positive for COVID-19, and chooses to notify others, the user must enter a positive test verification code to release the anonymous keys stored on the mobile device. The user will also be asked to enter a date of symptom onset, if applicable. If available, symptom onset date is used in the risk model to narrow down what other users should receive an exposure notification. Finally, the user is prompted to consent to alert others. When anonymous keys are released, the notifications that may be generated do not disclose the COVID-19 positive user’s identity, location, phone number, or any other personal information.

The exposure notification includes the date of the exposure, but the COVID-19 positive user’s identity is not shared. Sharing the exposure date is important to ensure the right precautions (such as self-quarantine) are taken for an appropriate amount of time based on the exposure date. It is possible that someone who receives an exposure notice could guess the identity of the COVID-19 positive individual, if they had a limited number of contacts on a given day.

A verification code is required to share a positive test result in the system. This ensures that only verified positive test results are used to generate exposure notifications. Verification codes may only be generated by the CDPH, the CA Notify call center, local public health authorities, or other provider authorized by CDPH to issue codes.

Sharing of information

The following categories of de-identified data may be processed and collected by CA Notify:

  • Installing and deleting the app (Android only)
  • Enabling and disabling exposure notifications
  • Receiving an exposure notification
  • Entering a verification code to send anonymous keys
  • Anonymous keys that have been voluntarily shared

The data may be used to monitor system usage, as well as for performance evaluation and statistical or scientific research purposes. The data may also be shared with local public health authorities and the University of California. This information will not include any personal or location information, nor can it be used to identify any system user.

Age requirements

CA Notify is not intended for children under the age of 13. Users between the ages of 13 and 17 can only use the system after the parent or legal guardian has reviewed and provided consent. 

Changes to our Privacy Policy

CDPH may update this Privacy Policy from time to time. Users will be notified of any material changes to this Privacy Policy through the app. The notification will indicate when such changes will become effective.

Users who object to a new Privacy Policy may terminate participation in CA Notify by deleting or uninstalling the app (Android) or turning off the feature (iOS).

Contacting us

If you have any feedback, or any questions, comments, or concerns relating to this Privacy Policy or our privacy practices, please contact us at cdph.ca.gov, or write to us at the following address:

California Department of Public Health
PO Box 997377, MS 0500
Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

CDPH Conditions of Use
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/Conditions-of-Use.aspx

CDPH Privacy Policy
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/privacy-policy.aspx

Interested in sharing your experience with us?

How did you feel when you got an exposure notification?

Powered by


UC San Diego Health
CDPH - California Department of Public Health
California All
California Department of Technology

Need technical support?
Call our Help Desk
M-F - 8AM-5PM PST

1 (888) 421-9457

Is this page helpful?

Website powered by